• Primary domain works fine, images upload fine and they show up in posts.
    On mapped domains, the images upload and I can see them in the media library, but they don’t show up in the post, not even the broken image icon, nothing. Only way I can see anything where the image is supposed to be is when I write an image caption, and that shows up, otherwise nothing.

Viewing 15 replies - 16 through 30 (of 42 total)
  • Thread Starter calisun

    (@calisun)

    I use SME Server from https://www.contribs.org
    It is a different system from your standard linux, it uses templates for system configuration.
    Since it is not a common setup, I have created installation instructions for WordPress on SME Server and I have shared it with SME Server community.
    (If you are interested, my how-to can be found here)

    https://wiki.contribs.org/User_talk:Calisun

    Moderator Ipstenu (Mika Epstein)

    (@ipstenu)

    ?????? Advisor and Activist

    A quick search and it looks like we’ve got SME/Multisite issues with that going back over a year.

    Also found your post: https://forums.contribs.org/index.php?topic=47664.0 ??

    How does it know to apply the allowoverride to the mapped domains? I know when I go look at my httpd.conf, it has vhost sections for each domain (or combined sections for ipstenu.org and halfelf.org, which are mapped to the same place). Logically that’s somewhere in there…

    The problem is that something is removing “wp-content” from the URL of the images. In the page source, it’s pointing to https://employment-office.net/files/2012/05/Hiring-Manager-Reading-resume_2-270×300.jpg but should be pointing to https://employment-office.net/wp-content/files/2012/05/Hiring-Manager-Reading-resume_2-270×300.jpg (which works).

    Moderator Ipstenu (Mika Epstein)

    (@ipstenu)

    ?????? Advisor and Activist

    Curtis, that’s how Multsite works. It’s okay.

    https://ipstenu.org/files/2012/05/38168_Foamy-the-Squirrel-295×100.jpg

    See? Works fine.

    https://halfelf.org/files/2012/05/devo-cover-100×100.jpg is a mapped domain ??

    Hey, you’re right. For some reason, I could have sworn you still needed the wp-content portion in the URL, but I just checked my sites and they don’t have wp-content in the image URLs.

    However, as I mentioned, the image mentioned above does work with wp-content in the URL (so, the “files” portion of the URL is rewriting to blogs.dir properly, but the wp-content is not getting added into the rewrite).

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    @calisun, I’ve just looked over SME and it looks like these commands

    db accounts setprop "iBay" AllowOverride all
    db accounts setprop "iBay" FollowSymLinks enabled
    db accounts setprop "iBay" Indexes disabled
    signal-event ibay-modify "iBay"

    get parsed out to your actual Apache configuration files. Can you locate (not change anything) and upload that file or files to pastebin.com? Feel free to sanitize them.

    What appears to be happening is that the AllowOverride isn’t being applied to the VirtualHost.

    On my default and vhost configs I have an explicit statement in both locations.

    <Directory />
       Options FollowSymLinks -Indexes
       AllowOverride All
    </Directory>

    I just want to confirm that your SME generated config file have that too.

    Edit: Also can you copy the portions for apache2handler from <?php phpinfo() ?> output? I want to see what modules are loaded.

    Thread Starter calisun

    (@calisun)

    Not sure if this is enough to answer your question, but inside httpd.conf, I see this:

    <VirtualHost 0.0.0.0:80>
    
        ServerName employment-office.net
    ...
    RewriteEngine on
        RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
        RewriteRule .* - [F]

    Also, inside httpd.conf, I see this in regards to the directory where the wordpress is installed:

    #------------------------------------------------------------
    # ibay directories
    #------------------------------------------------------------
    
    <Directory /home/e-smith/files/ibays/wordpress/html>
        Options None
        Options +FollowSymLinks
        Options +Includes
        AllowOverride all
        order deny,allow
        deny from all
        allow from all
    </Directory>

    To answer the PHP modules question:

    Loaded Modules
    core prefork http_core mod_so mod_env mod_log_config mod_mime mod_negotiation mod_status mod_info mod_include mod_autoindex mod_dir mod_cgi mod_asis mod_imagemap mod_actions mod_proxy mod_proxy_http mod_alias mod_rewrite mod_authz_host mod_authz_user mod_auth_digest mod_expires mod_headers mod_usertrack mod_setenvif mod_auth_external mod_php5 mod_ssl
    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    That’s good, but see that <Directory /home/e-smith/files/ibays/wordpress/html> part? Is that entirely enclosed within the <VirtualHost 0.0.0.0:80> section?

    I’m not sure about SME, but on my Ubuntu LTS setup my default website is separate from my VirtualHost sections. I have the AllowOverride statement in both locations.

    Moderator Ipstenu (Mika Epstein)

    (@ipstenu)

    ?????? Advisor and Activist

    Is there a separate virtual host section for the non-mapped domain as well? In mine, I combined them so it’s got ipstenu.org, https://www.ipstenu.org, halfelf.org etc etc all in a row. Only have to add stuff once (which was a matter of lazy DNSing via WHM and cPanel).

    Thread Starter calisun

    (@calisun)

    Is there a separate virtual host section for the non-mapped domain as well?

    SME Server can only have one Default domain, all other domains added to the server after initial setup, are all virtual domains.
    In SME server there is no way to distinguish if the domain is wordpress primary or if it is wordpress mapped domain.
    In SME you just setup a domain and tell it to which iBay to point it to.

    <Directory /home/e-smith/files/ibays/wordpress/html> part? Is that entirely enclosed within the <VirtualHost 0.0.0.0:80> section?

    No, it is all separate,
    it is something like this:

    <VirtualHost 0.0.0.0:80>
        ServerName domain#1
    ...........
    <VirtualHost 0.0.0.0:80>
        ServerName domain#2
    ...........
    <VirtualHost 0.0.0.0:80>
        ServerName domain#3
    etc.. etc.. etc...

    than afterwards there is separate section:

    #------------------------------------------------------------
    # ibay directories
    #------------------------------------------------------------
    <Directory /home/e-smith/files/ibays/iBayName#1/html>
    ..........
    <Directory /home/e-smith/files/ibays/iBayName#2/html>
    ..........
    <Directory /home/e-smith/files/ibays/iBayName#3/html>
    etc...etc...etc...

    Moderator Jan Dembowski

    (@jdembowski)

    Forum Moderator and Brute Squad

    Separate? Huh.

    I’ve never even considered trying that, my Directory statements are always wrapped in my VirtualHost sections. I can’t remember if that’s done simply for organizational/readability purposes or if it won’t work that way. I’m pretty sure they have to be inside the VirtualHost sections or Apache doesn’t know to apply the override correctly to the right vhost.

    Can you get SME to move those Directory statements moved into the VirtualHost section?

    Thread Starter calisun

    (@calisun)

    I have posted in SME Server forum to see if anybody has any answers there.

    Thread Starter calisun

    (@calisun)

    Strangest thing, I did some changes to the server and eventually I got the images to show, but only sometimes. For a while I could not figure out why it showed up only sometimes, but eventually it turns out that:
    when I connect to my site:
    https://
    no images
    but when I connect:
    https://
    I see images

    Still trying to figure out what is going on.

    Thread Starter calisun

    (@calisun)

    I can’t find anybody that would know the answer.

    Does anybody here know why images would show up when viewing page using https:// but no images when viewing using https://

    Please check on my link mentioned above and let me know if you get the same results, images using https:// but no images when using https://

    any suggestions greatly appreciated.

    I notice the url for your image file contains the element “files”. Does this refer to the “files” directory on SME in the iBay directory?

    I ask because I don’t use that directory for files to be displayed in the web pages. I place the image files in the ibay/hmtl/ tree instead, e.g. html/images/ or html/wp-content/images/.

    For files shared across domains or sub domains, in a directory owned by apache and having read/write privileges for owner and group, and read for everyone.

    I hope this helps.

Viewing 15 replies - 16 through 30 (of 42 total)
  • The topic ‘images in mappped domains’ is closed to new replies.